7 Phrases to Remove from Your Everyday Vocabulary: Stop the Stigma on Mental Illness

I have mental illnesses: namely OCD, Anxiety, and Depression. The story of my journey in coping with them is a story for another time; however, you need to know that it is tough. These chemical imbalances in my brain cause me to be exhausted each and every day from intrusive thoughts that dominate my brain. Recognizing what was wrong at the beginning was a huge step, and I am still learning ways to cope. This process is long, tiring, and it just plains sucks. My story of mental illness isn’t a rare one, either. 1 in 4 Americans has a diagnosable mental illness.

Unfortunately, we live in a society that does not always see mental illnesses as pressing as physical illnesses. This stigma is problematic, but you can do small things to stop it. This can start with everyday language. We’ve all probably said some problematic things, or at least have heard them. Moving forward, know that when you use medical terminology to describe everyday feelings and actions, you perpetuate stereotypes and promote the misunderstanding of medical conditions. Become aware of the problematic language you use and even better, change it!

  1. “That movie was so depressing.”

    • “That movie was sad.”
    • “That movie was heartbreaking.”
    • “That movie was discouraging.”
  2. “I’m super OCD about how I keep my office.”

    • “I like to keep my office clean.”
    • “I am particular about how I like my office to be organized.”
    • “I’m a bit of a perfectionist when it comes to organization.”
  3. “The weather is bipolar.”

    • “The weather is unpredictable.”
    • “The weather is inconsistent.”
    • “Mother Nature seems to be moody.”
  4. “She looks anorexic.”

    • “She looks skinny.”
    • “She looks gaunt.”
    • “She looks malnourished.”
  5. “I was having a schizophrenic moment.”

    • “I’m feeling a bit scatter-brained.”
    • “I lost my train of thought.”
    • “My brain is a bit overwhelmed today.”
  6. “I feel insane because I stayed up late studying and didn’t get enough sleep.”

    • “I can’t think straight when I’m not well-rested.”
    • “I am extremely overtired, so I’m a bit moody today.”
    • “My attention span isn’t very good today; I didn’t get much sleep last night.”
  7. “You’re taking how many credits!? That’s psychotic!

    • “How do you handle being so busy?!”
    • “I can’t imagine taking so many classes!”
    • “Teach me how to manage my time like you do!”

Thank you for taking it upon yourself to be a more inclusive, better person. I hope you continue to keep learning.

 

 

Leave a comment